[Wordpress] WebApps time-to-first-byte is extremely slow RRS feed

• Question

• Domain Name: https://www.frogmd.com

I am on a Standard S2 plan.

I am currently running a Webapp: Wordpress with a SQL db. The time-to-first-byte is extremely slow (varying, but at time up to 20 seconds).

My developers can't seem to figure out why this is happening. I am not a developer or a SQL admin, but here are the things that I know about our current system:

Front-end: mostly PHP. basic js and jquery. 

Back-end: SQL db with C# datafactory and a blob storage for documents

I read that this slowness is very common for Azure / Wordpress setups. Multiple forums and online communities seems to be a have fixed this issue by implementing a variation of the following tactics:

• Upgrading PHP from v5.6 to v7.1
    • Edit .users.ini file - add text: output_buffering = off;
    • Edit web.config and add following code:

<configuration>      
         <system.webServer>
             <handlers>
                <add name="PHP-FastCGI"
                    path="*.php"
                    verb="GET,HEAD,POST"
                    modules="FastCgiModule"
                    scriptProcessor="D:\Program Files (x86)\PHP\v5.4\php-cgi.exe"
                    resourceType="Either"
                    requireAccess="Script" 
                    responseBufferLimit="0" />
             </handlers>
          </system.webServer>
    </configuration>

All 3 of these crashed the site completely. I attempted each modification one-by-one.

This is extremely frustrating because the site is much too slow for a practical application in the real world. Our clients are getting tired of waiting for the page to load and we're very close to having to move our hosting to a different platform. Please help.

Friday, December 8, 2017 2:02 PM

All replies