none
Sending graphics developed in a sub to an object RRS feed

• Question

• I am relatively new to working with graphic objects but with the help of people here have gotten a good feel of it. I finished my first part of a project I am working on which runs fine but after looking at my code I thought I might be able to minimize a lot of redundancy if I could build subs or functions that would allow me to build the graphics within the sub and then send the graphics out of the sub to an object which in my case is a picture box on a form.  Through my reading in this forum it seems that its preferred to do graphics inside of a panel but I don't understand what the difference is.  As an example if I can build lets say text that I can pass to a sub and then do what I have to do with it and then send it out to an object I think that would cut down a lot of my coding. So lets say I have an equation like f(x) = x^2 -3x+5 I would like to be able to send that string to a sub then turn it into a graphic and then send it outside of the sub to my picturebox on my form. If I can understand initially how to get started I think I can figure the rest out.

Thanks in advance,

Les

Friday, November 22, 2019 6:27 AM

Answers

• Yeah. Hmmm. Well I am not promising I will be any help. Especially if you already have it working how you like.

If you have this same thing 17 equations worth then it might help to use subroutines inside the select case as shown in the example. Call subs with g graphics. However you need to pass all the variables to the sub. Correct? So a simple class structure can help. See the example. Of course this is just a start about classes you can do much more. Its not that hard to do simple things like put the sub routines in the class. It helps organize.

Now you can define the initial values in the class once and pass that to many sub routines that use the same values. You can also just change a few of the default initial values for each etc.