Transaction Exception: The operation is not valid for the state of the transaction. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello All!

I'm using a code sample I found on http://softwaredevscott.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!1A9E939F7373F3B7!155.entry in order to try and keep a clean database environment by utilizing TransactionScope with MBUnit. Basically, the idea being that every unit test with a DB call that has potential to modify the DB is wrapped in a TransactionScope() and rolled back after each test.

I'm relatively new to the idea of transactions at the application level, although I have used them in the past with TSQL. I've done some research and haven't found a lot of information about the particular error I'm having and because I don't understand all of it 100%, I won't reiterate it.

Basically, I have an abstract class that is similar to the one in the article I linked above. I'm extending that abstract class in my own test classes. Inside my unit test I query the DB to get a PK value, then I call my webservice business object, then I make one more query to the DB to ensure that the expected outcome has occurred (in this case, a row has been deleted).

Abstract Class:
    [TestFixture]
    public abstract class TransactionalFixture
    {
        /// <summary>
        /// Transaction that we hold open for the duration of the test.
        /// </summary>
        private System.Transactions.TransactionScope testTransaction;

[SetUp]
        public void SetUp()
        {
            testTransaction = new TransactionScope();
        }

[TearDown]
        public void TearDown()
        {
            testTransaction.Dispose();
        }
    }

Pseudo code for my the class:
    public class Sets : TransactionalFixture
    {
        [Test]
        public void DeleteReport()
        {
            Database db = DatabaseFactory.CreateDatabase("ReportingDB");
            DbCommand dbc = null;
            DataSet ds = null;

try
            {