none
cannot link *.obj file produced from *.asm having beeen generated by MSVisual Studio 2017 C++ RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, everybody, I am a student and I tried to get *.asm code by compilation C++ project in MS Visual Studio 2017. ASM code was got OK. It also was compiled OK with ml.exe (MASM32). But I stuck on linking: there were multiple unresolved externals with very long and pretentious names like: "__imp____stdio_common_vfprintf", "__imp____stdio_common_vfscanf" and so on. My source C code is simple: it opens file, read it (vfscanf), and then writes (vprintf) to another file. It also uses new() and delete() functions (they are also unresolved!). How to fix this problem? I did not write even a letter in this asm source code - all was completely generated by MS VC++ 2017. So, why it cannot resolve it's own code? it is srange. Pls help...
    Sunday, March 18, 2018 11:47 AM

All replies

• I suppose if you don't understand the tricks that the compiler does behind the scenes then it does seem strange. But if you run dumpbin /directives on the object file(s) generated by the C++ compiler, you will actually get this output:

Linker Directives
       -----------------
       /FAILIFMISMATCH:_MSC_VER=1900
       /FAILIFMISMATCH:_ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL=0
       /FAILIFMISMATCH:RuntimeLibrary=MD_DynamicRelease
       /DEFAULTLIB:msvcprt
       /FAILIFMISMATCH:_CRT_STDIO_ISO_WIDE_SPECIFIERS=0
       /DEFAULTLIB:MSVCRT
       /DEFAULTLIB:OLDNAMES

So what does this mean? Well, these are commands for the linker, and the important ones are the /defaultlib ones. The compiler is telling the linker that it should automatically link against msvcrt (this will cause the linker to automatically link against msvcrt.lib, vcruntime.lib and ucrt.lib) and msvcprt (this will cause the linker to link against msvcprt.lib). So the compiler tells the linker to automatically link against several important libraries.