The following forum(s) are migrating to a new home on Microsoft Q&A (Preview): Azure Active Directory!

Ask new questions on Microsoft Q&A (Preview).
Interact with existing posts until December 13, 2019, after which content will be closed to all new and existing posts.

Learn More

none
Azure Setup and user Login RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Everyone,

I'm new in setting up AD in cloud environment.

So I'm thinking to setup AD in azure, for user authentication along with Group policy and Fileservers.

My question is, is it do able?

What I'm thinking is, since our AD will be located in the cloud it means as long as user connected to the internet, they can always sign in. how a bout the security for it? 

Since my concern is, if I create on prem AD and i want user to be able to login to the AD it means I have to add VPN connection on my site.

Please advise. I'm totally blank in this water.

Wednesday, October 16, 2019 3:13 PM

All replies

• Eka P. Widjaya, Thank you for sharing the query. To start with I am assuming you do not have any On-Prem AD environment available or any Azure AD tenant available at this time. Now, to start from scratch, lets assume the following terms and cases:

Terms:

On-Prem AD: This is an implementation of Active Directory installed on a VM/Physical server and sitting in a datacenter. All users will be authenticating to the On-Prem AD Domain Controllers using the auth methods like Kerberos or NTLM

Azure AD: This is a directory that gets created on Cloud, as soon as you buy a subscription for Azure. Having said that, this directory is not as same as the On-Prem AD Directory. For users to get authenticated to this directory, they have to go through web-auth protocols like OAuth 2.0 or Open ID Connect etc.

Now lets discuss the cases.