none
Routing in Azure between point-to-site and site-to-site networks RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to Azure and trying to use VPN to connect a single machine here to a VM on Azure. The VM is on the newer Resource Manager platform. Unfortunately, only the classic platform supports point-to-site. So I added a classic network and connected both networks with a site-to-site VPN.

VNet1 (Resource) - 10.0.0.0/23

VNet2 (Classic) - 10.0.10.0/23

The VNet2 Gateway also has point-to-site enabled. Point-to-site IP range is 192.168.0.0/24.

I downloaded the VPN client on my machine here and connected to the VPN. I'm assigned 192.168.0.5.

All VPN connections appear to be working, but I cannot see machines on VNet1 from here. A ping/tracert to 10.0.0.4 times out.

One article I found referenced the need for adding a line to the routes.txt for the VPN connection. The first line was already there, I added the second one and re-connected the VPN.

ADD 10.0.10.0 MASK 255.255.254.0 default METRIC default IF default

ADD 10.0.0.0 MASK 255.255.254.0 default METRIC default IF default

No luck. I checked the route table and the 10.0.0.0 routing is in there.

IPv4 Route Table
    Active Routes:
    Network Destination        Netmask          Gateway       Interface  Metric
    <snip>
    10.0.0.0    255.255.254.0         On-link       192.168.0.7     28
    10.0.1.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.0.7    266
    10.0.10.0    255.255.254.0         On-link       192.168.0.7     28
    10.0.11.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.0.7    266
    <snip>

What am I missing?

Friday, January 8, 2016 2:08 AM

Answers

• Hi Phil,

I have managed to work out the PowerShell for point to site to the ARM network. I have tested and can ping a VM on the ARM network form my local machine.