none
Help with my expression in report builder RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys!

Wonder I you could help, I new to expressions and trying to write a multiple condition expression. At the moment I have setup a percentage calculation for the summary of the data in the report (which works). It basically looks at the field 'sec' which is the total seconds for a call, the expression gives a summary of the percentage of calls that were under 60 seconds.

=formatpercent(SUM(IIf(Fields!sec.Value  <"60",1,0))/count(Fields!sec.Value),1)

Now I just want to add an extra parameter of the report for the field 'Origin_of_Call', so it does exactly what did before but only for records where the value of 'Origin_of_Call' = "Landline". I've tried a few different combination but the computer is saying no.

I'm sure this is probably straight forward but I'm a newbie.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Andy

Wednesday, June 24, 2020 7:17 AM

Answers

• So, to get percentage of calls less than 60 sec. we 

SUM(IIf ( ( Fields!sec.Value  <60) AND ( Fields!Origin_of_Call = "Landline" ), 1, 0) /

SUM(IIF( Fields!Origin_of_Call = "Landline" , 1, 0))

-----------

The only little issue is that we need to add a check for 0 in the second expression to avoid division by 0. I'm not familiar with SSRS, but hopefully you know how to add some extra check.

For every expert, there is an equal and opposite expert. - Becker's Law

My blog

My TechNet articles

• Marked as answer by ANDY_MEL Wednesday, July 1, 2020 2:29 PM
    Thursday, June 25, 2020 2:14 PM

All replies

• Just to confirm - you only want the percentage of calls less than 60 seconds for those calls where the Origin_of_Call = "LandLine"?

If that is the case:

=IIf(Fields!Origin_of_Call.Value = "LandLine", formatpercent(SUM(IIf(Fields!sec.Value < 60, 1, 0)) / count(Fields!sec.Value), 1), Nothing)

A couple of notes:

1. You don't need to format the value in an expression - you can format the text field instead.