TreeView_NodeCheck compile error - procedure declaration does not match description of event or procedure having the same name RRS feed

• Question

• Hi! I am quite new to programming in VBA, and I have this project in Excel with a treeview. Now, I am using a code (with help from sources I found on the internet) on how to check / uncheck the children when the parent node is selected. I know my code isnt optimized, but it works on my computer. However, when I distributed it to my peers, it suddenly shows the Compile Error: procedure declaration does not match description of event or procedure having the same name. The error is on the procedure declaration itself, but I just selected this from the dropdown boxes and didn't change anything.

So we tried to experiment and rewrite the declaration on the computer where the error occurred. We wrote the exact same thing, and poof! It worked! But when they sent me back this file, the error is now transferred to my computer. I am really not sure what is wrong, but I suspect that it is the difference on the mscomctl.ocx file. Their version is 6.1.98.46 while mine is 6.1.98.39. I have not yet changed my version to theirs as I do not have admin rights on my work computer. But I would like to hear some thoughts on what you think could be done, or if it is not necessary to change the version of my mscomctl.ocx file. I also read on some forums that it might be good to do late binding to avoid problems with diff versions, although I am not really well-versed to do it on my code.

Thanks for your help!

Private Sub TreeView1_NodeCheck(ByVal Node As MSComctlLib.Node)

Dim iChild, yChild As Integer
    Dim nodX, nodY As Node

If Node.Children <> 0 Then
        'if there are children present, then Node is a parent
            Set nodX = Node.Child
            For iChild = 1 To Node.Children
                nodX.Checked = Node.Checked

If nodX.Children <> 0 Then