none
Why Do We Use Stored Procedures?

Question

• I have been using MS Access for many years, and now I am trying to learn SQL Server (and hopefully get away from MS Access).  So, I’m reading a book about Stored Procedures.  To me, they seem like Queries in Access, but much more complicated.  For instance, I saw this in my book:

USE Northwind

SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER  ON

GO

IF OBJECT_ID('dbo.listorders')  IS  NOT  NULL

DROP PROC dbo .listorders

GO

CREATE PROC dbo .listorders

AS

SELECT *  FROM "Order Details"

GO

SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER  OFF

GO

EXEC dbo .listorders

Now, I run this:

SELECT *  FROM "Order Details"

The results are exactly the same!!  My question has two parts.  Why do we need all the extra stuff in a Stored Procedure, when SQL will do exactly the same thing?  How do you actually learn how to do useful things with Stored Porcedures?  I’m reading a book on this now (TSQL Guru’s Guide to SQL Server Stored Procedures), and I’m not finding much useful information in the book.

Then, just for fun, I run another Stored Procedure:

USE Northwind

IF (OBJECT_ID('dbo.ListRegionalEmployees') IS NOT NULL)

DROP PROC dbo.ListRegionalEmployees

GO

SET ANSI_NULLS OFF

GO

CREATE PROC dbo.ListRegionalEmployees @region nvarchar(30)

AS

SELECT EmployeeID, LastName, FirstName, Region FROM employees

WHERE Region=@region

GO

SET ANSI_NULLS ON

GO

I’m thinking, ‘OK!  Great!!’  However, I don’t see anything actually happening.  How can I tell what is going on when I only get a message that the Procudure was successful, but I don’t actually SEE anything at all???

Thanks for your input, everyone!!

Tuesday, June 21, 2011 8:34 PM

Answers

• Hi 

The above script creates the stored procedure, Its like creating Query in Access, After creating the stored procedure, you need to execute that to get results

Ex.

EXEC dbo.ListRegionalEmployees @region = 'WEST'

GO

Read this article for why we need to use SPs