none
re-indexing in SQL Server 2005 express??

Question

• Hello,

I'm a REAL newbie in SQL 2005 Express (let alone in SQL!), and I'm trying to put together a database using SQL and Visual Studio 2008. I'm writing up a program in C#, but I'm having a problem on re-indexing. I have a primary key that's an integer, and in my C# program, I got it to automatic incremented, starting at 0 and incrementing by 1.

That seems fine, but I notice something. Say I have in column ID I have this: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, .... but I don't need 4th record and I've deleted it out of the database. How can I get 5 and 6 decreased by one to close that gap? Is there a SQL script that will handle that?

Steve

Wednesday, July 02, 2008 10:15 AM

Answers

• You can use the ALTER INDEX command to rebuild an index by specifying the REBUILD option.  I wrote a series on performing maintenance in SQL Express on the SQL Examples site that you can find a lot of good information in:

Performing Common Maintenance Tasks in SQL Express

Ola Hallengren also has a very nice stored procedure that does index maintenance and is compatible with SQL Express.  You can find the code for it on his blog for free.

http://blog.ola.hallengren.com/

Keep in mind that this is not going to renumber your data rows in the table though.