none
System.Array' does not contain a definition for 'Add' and no extension method 'Add' when i use List<int> in Client Side.

Question

• Hello,

I'm a beginner in WCF Ria Services, and i have a problem that i outiline below:

I have a DLL named Contract, inside it i have:

private List<int> permission;

public class User{

[DataMember]

public List<int> Permission{

get { return this.permission; }
                set { this.permission= value;}
            }

}
            public User() {

this.Permission = new List<int>();

}

So... When I try to use this List<int> in the Client Side like showed below:

User user= new User();

user.Permission.Add(1); //ERROR.

ServiceTest service= new ServiceTest ();
     service.CadastraUser(user);

An Error is presented like showed below:

Error 1 'System.Array' does not contain a definition for 'Add' and no extension method 'Add' accepting a first argument of type 'System.Array' could be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)

How Can I solve this problem ? And how Can I  fill this List<int> in the Client Side ?

P.S: I Use WCF Ria Services.

Thank you, so much.

Best Regards.

Thursday, August 18, 2011 3:50 PM

Answers

• On the client Permissions is not a List<int>, it is an IEnumerable<int> and cannot be directly added or deleted from. If you want to change the collection you have to replace it completely. For example:

List<int> Permission = user.Permission.ToList();
    Permission.Add(1);
    user.Permission = Permission;

EDIT: In case you are wondering why it isn't just a List, if it was a list like it was on the server there would be no way for the Entity to be notified if you changed the contents of the List. You would add something to it but the EntityState would stay unmodified. This way you at least have to change the IEnumerable that the Entity started with to a List before you can start adding and removing things from it making sure that the EntityState changes.