Tuesday, May 08, 2012 3:13 PM
What could be potential impacts to workflow if a user is removed?
Wednesday, May 09, 2012 7:47 AM
If an action in the workflow assign a task to a user whom is removed, error will not occur in the workflow. You can still find the task in the task list of which assigned to column is empty. But the administrator can still change the status of the task. The administrator can even terminate the workflow directly.
If the person who starts the workflow is removed, the workflow may change into the error_occured status. All SharePoint workflows run as the SharePoint System Account, however, if this is a workflow created in SharePoint Designer then the default SPD actions have their permission trimmed to match those of the person who starts the workflow.
Hope that helps.
TechNet Community Support
Wednesday, May 09, 2012 4:48 PMThank you very much. Do you know whether there is a global setting that can be used to replace one user with another. For example, we have an employee who has left the company. The user as the owner of many of their pages with the new SP admin at their location. Is this possible?
Sunday, May 13, 2012 1:09 PM
The ownership of pages can be taken by other user if the first user has checked out them. This can be done by going into the document library settings --> Manage checked out files --> take ownership
Thanks, Rahul Rashu
- Marked As Answer by Jack-GaoMicrosoft Contingent Staff, Moderator Monday, May 21, 2012 2:01 AM