none
WP8: Emulator has no Internet access

Question

• Hi everyone,

the emulator works for me but get's no Internet access. I've read the troubleshooting document but it doesn't worked for me or I've overlooked something.

That I have>

1. A FritzBox as my router
    2. My desktop PC running the emulator, connected on the router by Ethernet cable (1GBit to be excactlz)
    3. The emulator get's it's own IP from the router and on the router admin web interface I can see that the desktop pc and the emulator have two different IPs.
    4. I've tried to deactivate the proxy detection settings (no proxy configured) but it doesn't change anything.

I hope someone can point how to configure the settings correctly.
    As a side note: This is terrible! The emulator from the WP 7.1 SDK did the things and it just worked! I'm a developer and not an IT administrator to configure and understand Hyper-V in it's glory to get this easy task working.

Ralf Ehlert MCPD | MCTS | MCAS | MCP

Wednesday, October 31, 2012 10:44 PM

Answers

• I figured my Win 8 + WP8 SDK connectivity problem out!(After 6 hours of trying everything I can)

I was originally using a class B static IP in my windows 8 network connection.

I tried everything with this setup and still couldnt get the emulator connectivity to work.

Ten minutes ago I plugged my PC into a wireless router with DHCP enabled.

And all of a sudden voila! The emulator internet connection works!

Hope this helps!

Thursday, November 01, 2012 5:18 PM
  • I don't know that was wrong. But I deleted the VM in the Hyper-V Manager and let Visual Studio create a new one and Internet Access works.

Strange Thing...

• Marked as answer by Ralf Ehlert Thursday, November 01, 2012 7:50 PM
    Thursday, November 01, 2012 7:50 PM

All replies

• Hei,

I have this problem as well. No internet connectivity. Networking with virtual machines is always a headache. I tried everything in the trouble shooting document. Nothing helped.