none
How do you capture desktop audio using DirectShow?

Вопрос

• I'm new to using DirectShow so please excuse my newbie question, but I couldn't seem to find the answer anywhere on the forums or in the Microsoft DirectShow documentation.

I'd like to capture the desktop audio ( i.e. if a game is running, I'd like to record the audio it's producing) and write it out to an avi file, but I can't seem to set up the filter graph correctly using GraphEdit because the avi file produced is the correct length, but there is nothing audible.

Here's a run down of the filters in my GraphEdit setup
    1)  SigmaTel Audio - Capture Source
    2)  AVI Mux
    3)  Filewriter

The graph is setup like:
    SigmaTelAudio -> AVI Mux -> Filewriter

Questions regarding my setup

1) The SigmaTel Audio filter is the only filter that shows up under the Audio Capture Sources category, so I assume that all the sounds being produced will eventually be routed through the SigmaTelAudio filter and should be able to be captured.  Perhaps I am mistaken about this.

2) If the SigmaTel Audio filter is not actually my sound card, do I have to create a custom audio capture filter that would have its buffer filled by the desired audio source?

3) I guess my most important question is: Is there a central place where all audio must pass before it is outputed to external devices like speakers or headphone?  If such a place exists, it would be the ideal place to capture audio.

Thank you in advance for your help.
    Tim
    29 ноября 2007 г. 0:32

Ответы

• You have to ensure that your sound card driver supports Stereo Mix and enable it from the sound settings. This then captures any audio that parses over the sound card. (Wave Out).

29 ноября 2007 г. 20:28
  •  drewdb wrote: