none
Can Wave{In|Out} be run in exclusive mode? & is it safe to play with WASAPI buffers without eventcallback

Question

• Hi, i'm new to the core audio (SPECS: 64b intel, 32b vista OS with integrated realtek, 2Gram; Via IsApiSupported, realtek seems to run only 16bit-depth, though the Hz can go up to 192kHz and also in my control panel settings it goes up to 24bit).

I have 4 questions , 2  pertaining to exclusive mode (as i require lowlatency with audio hardware to feed back and forth with a neuralnet)

[1] Rather than using WASAPI, can the waveIn/Out functions be set in exclusive mode, or are they already? It was a hassle to go through the WASAPI to get things setup, though i haven't actually tried getting the buffer itself.

[2] Using WASAPI with everything setup properly, is it safe to just memcpy (to/from) the buffers grabbed from GetBuffer for both IAudioCaptureClient &IAudioRenderClient without using one of the flags for "Initialize"? The exclusive mode example uses EVENTCALLBACK and i'm not sure whether my application requires it?

My application is devised for this post into 3 threads: (a) AudioIn, (b) audioOut, and (c) the main thread for passing a buffer between the two. 

AudioIn captures to buffer, that is manipulated by the main thread. And AudioOut renders from buffer used in main thread. 

[3] Is the data from GetBuffer in PCM format just amplitude values of the waveform that i can feed into a FFT/iFFT if needed before feeding into NNET.

[4] I tried getting the wavformat from the properties methods in the examples (i setup the wavfmt manually as per someone previous post) using PKEY_AudioEngine_DeviceFormat but i get a duplicate _PKEY_ definitions error and am not sure what #define/undef I need to set so that initguid.h gets defined only once. I have the std WASAPI headers included in an .h file, and from someone's previous post it says u have to ensure that linking happens in only one .cpp. 

Thanks in advanced.

Jack