none
Disable indexing option in Outlook 2007 folders

Question

• Hi,

Is there a way to use the WDS SDK to disable indexing option in Outlook 2007 personal folders?
    I'm new to WDS SDK so could you show me sample codes on how to do it?

Thank you,
    Rajat
    Wednesday, April 22, 2009 5:50 PM

All replies

• Could you please make it clear if you want to disable the whole Outlook e-mail indexing or just the personal folder. In the latter case, you could still have other pst files indexed.
    If you want to do the former case, group policy is the way to go. ( http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc732491.aspx ) The one you are looking for is "Prevent Indexing Microsoft Office Outlook ".
    If you are seeking the latter case, it is not supported directly by SDK though it is doable.
    Wednesday, April 22, 2009 11:30 PM
  • Hi Jeff,

I'm trying to programatically disable indexing in the personal folder in Outlook.  So, could you show me how to do that.

Thank you,
    Rajat
    Thursday, April 23, 2009 1:25 PM
  • Then I assume you want  index some PST files but not the personal folder. From Control Panel->Indexing Option->Modify, in the treeview, you could find the MS Office Outlook node, click to expand it, and you could see there are some children nodes mapping to your personal folder and PST files. For common users, he/she could uncheck these items to disable indexing on certain stores.
    To disable the personal folder with code, you need to use Crawl Scope Manager ( http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb266541(VS.85).aspx ) to disable the personal folder url by using ISearchCrawlScopeManager::AddUserScopeRule.
    To get the personal folder url, try http://blogs.msdn.com/stephen_griffin/archive/2006/05/10/594641.aspx .
    Thanks.
    Thursday, April 23, 2009 5:13 PM
  • Hi Rajat,