none
Redirecting TCP to loop back interface

Question

• Hi,

in a callout for OUTBOUND_TRANSPORT_V4 i will redirect the TCP connection to 127.0.0.1. FwpsInjectTransportSendAsync0 returns with STATUS_SUCCESS, but the Completion-function has (status member of Netbufferlist) STATUS_INVALID_ADDRESS_COMPONENT as result.

Everything works ok, if i use the DHCP-assigned address of the LAN interface instead of 127.0.0.1.

FwpsInjectTransportSendAsync0  has a parameter "compartmentId", which is the identifier of the routing compartment. I believe the id taken from the classify function does not match to the loop back interface, so how can i get the compartmentId for the loop back interface? I don't like the idea to catch this id in a different callout, and store it in my driver for later use.

If i'm totally wrong, any hints for my problem?

Thanks, Jens
    Monday, July 09, 2007 2:34 PM

Answers

• I would like to help but I am no expert on some of these areas (e.g. LSP/TDI/WSK). Below is according to best of my knowledge --

- TDI filters are still supported in Vista

- Only connections arriving over port 445 will bypass TDI filters (mainly for performance reasons)

- Currently there is no WSP-like support for WSK.

You may want to post your questions to Winsock/WSK related forums/newsgroups to see what other options are available for your project.

Biao.W.

Friday, July 13, 2007 4:26 AM

All replies

•  

Hi Jens,

You cannot send a packet to a loopback address(127.x.x.x) from a non-loopback address. This is by design and hence the STATUS_INVALID_ADDRESS_COMPONENT error is valid.

The solution to the problem would be to use the DHCP assigned address of the LAN interface as you have done. Is there any way this solution can work for you? Also, it would help if you can explain your scenario a little bit more to see if there is any other way you can do this.

Thanks,

anu

Tuesday, July 10, 2007 11:40 PM
  • Hi Anu,