none
Search doesn't work.

Question

• When I search for a file or folder, it will search for all of 2 seconds then say that there are no results. I even tryed searching for My Documents and nothing came up. What should I do?
    Friday, May 19, 2006 5:22 PM

Answers

• Hello Andriy,

I believe the problem you are experiencing is with Windows Search Companion - not Windows Desktop Search (WDS).  Search Companion is a standard feature of windows, while Desktop Search is an add-in feature that works quite differently.

This forum is intended specifically for WDS questions, but I'll try to lend a little advice.  I'm not an expert in Search Companion, but I will say that you may want to make sure that the folder or drive that is selected in the "Look in" section of Search Companion contains the files you are looking for.  You might have the best luck if you select the local hard drive that the bulk of your files are on (Local Hard Drive (C:) for most people). 

If you need more assitance you might look in this location:

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/windows/xp/all/proddocs/en-us/find_overview.mspx?mfr=true

Wednesday, May 24, 2006 9:48 PM

All replies

• Hi GiantSonic,

Here are some things that may help: