none
How do I manage mouseover event using UI Automation?

Question

• Hello all,

In first place I apoligize for my English, because I'm studying it now.

I would like to know how do I manage mouseover event using UI Automation? I know that there is a handle in order to call a method when focus change to other application

AutomationFocusChangedEventHandler afceh = new AutomationFocusChangedEventHandler(funcion2);
                Automation.AddAutomationFocusChangedEventHandler(afceh);

but I need to call a function when mouse position changes over screen elements.

Does anybody have the answer?

Thanks.
    Thursday, June 25, 2009 8:17 PM

Answers

All replies

• This is not supported in UI Automation at this time.  The application itself knows when the mouse passes over it, but the client does not. 

If you need to monitor what the mouse is doing, you might be able to use a low-level mouse hook:
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms644986(VS.85).aspx

Thanks,
    Michael

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
    Friday, June 26, 2009 3:55 PM
  • Hello Michael,

In first place, thank you for your answer. I would like to ask other question. Do you think that using this hook I could get screen elements information in order to build a screen reader? Last week I have seen a video from MS Accessibility Developer Center where to build a screen reader using UI Automation is explained but I think it doesn't work because only controls focus change event.

Thank you for your time and answers.

Best Regards.

Jesús Merino.
    Sunday, June 28, 2009 10:23 AM
  • Hi, Jesus,

I'm not sure I understand your question.  It sounds like you want to build a screen reader where the reader reads what the mouse is moving over.  Is that right?