none
How to move win svc to cloud and connect to db on premises

Question

• Hi All,

I have a console app that I'm going to convert to a Windows Service. It runs on my VM on premises. It connects to my prod db on premises via linked server, takes that data and manipulates it as required, then dumps it to my db on the cloud (Azure). So far its just using a conn string to connect to Azure. This needs to run every day to get the previous days data.

I want to move this service to a VM on Azure. I want to use the Preview portal architecture because nobody can tell me what's going to happen to the current silverlight portal that would use Azure Connect. How can I do this? I'm a developer but not a network engineer. Are there any basic tutorials to help me:

a.) Setup a VNet (do I even need to do this)

b.) Setup a VM on Azure that I can deploy my app on (not too stressed about this step, I can figure it out)

c.) Have my service run on the VM in Azure AND connect to my db on premises

Thank you so much for any assistance and/or direction!

Tuesday, June 26, 2012 3:46 PM

Answers

• First off, the preview portal is just a management tool, not an architecture. There is no direct correlation between the portal and the various services such as Windows Azure Connect. The preview portal is preview because its not yet feature complete so I would caution anyone from attempting to draw any conclusions about the life expectancy of any existing Windows Azure services/products based on solely on their lack of presence in the preview portal.