none
"On this system, the Development Fabric supports AnyCPU and x64." How to configure the Development Fabric to support x86?

Question

• Hello, I'm very new to Azure, so please forgive the simple question.  

I'm trying to create my first Azure WorkerRole, my dev machine is x64 Vista. I need to reference an x86 .dll in my project. In order to load the .dll I have to compile the WorkerRole for x86. 

However when I set the Target CPU to x86, I get the folowing error:

---------------------------

Microsoft Visual Studio

Windows Azure Tools for Microsoft Visual Studio

Cannot start debugging. The role Foo_WorkerRole was built for a platform incompatible with the Development Fabric.  On this system, the Development Fabric supports AnyCPU and x64.

OK   

Surely it must be possible to somehow reference an x86 .dll on a x64 OS?

Please help! Thank you :)

wiz developer
    • Moved by SrikumarV Wednesday, September 29, 2010 12:15 AM Migration (From:Windows Azure AppFabric)
    Friday, April 30, 2010 12:19 AM

Answers

• Hello, you can't compile a Web/Worker Role assembly against x86. This is not supported in the cloud.

On an x64 machine (such as a Windows Azure cloud machine), you can perform the following tasks:

• Start a 32 bit process. (x86 exe)
    • Start a 64 bit process. (x64 exe, such as WaWeb/WorkerHost, the process that hosts your Web/Worker Role)
    • Invoke a 32 bit dll from a 32 bit process.
    • Invoke a 64 bit dll from a 64 bit process.
    • Invoke a .NET assembly compiled against Any CPU from a 32 bit process.
    • Invoke a .NET assembly compiled against Any CPU from a 64 bit process.
    • Invoke a WCF service hosted in a 32 bit process from another 64 bit process.
    • Invoke a WCF service hosted in a 64 bit process from another 32 bit process.

But you can't do the following:

• Invoke a 32 bit dll from a 64 bit process.
    • Invoke a 64 bit dll from a 32 bit process.