none
Alternative source of Metro apps

General discussion

• To be clear I'm a Windows developer and I'm also involved in the development of AppWhirr, an alternative app store for Windows (from XP). Everything I write here is my personal opinion as a developer and I have a great understanding of the store concept since I'm a developer of one.

My concern regarding the new centralized Store based model introduced in Windows 8:
    By the information available it seems that the only source of Metro apps will be the Windows Store for most of the users. 

And it means: only those Metro apps which Microsoft accepts can be installed to Windows 8 and only with the terms Microsoft provides. It can prevent a huge amount of great opensource or simple free apps to appear in the store.

There are existing app stores for Windows even for Win XP. A few example: AllMyApps, AppWhirr and Intel AppUp. Each with slightly different concepts and advantages. These stores are competing with each other and competition forces innovation, constant improvements and competitive pricing.

In case the Windows Store will be the only allowed source of Metro apps it will shut out competition and it's bad for the whole ecosystem. For example if it forces app pricing to 'align' with the Store's policy and they don't want to allow pay-what-you-want or donation-ware pricing they simply won't allow it and developers have to accept this. If they want to keep 30% of the app revenue they can. If they raise it to 50% you (as a developer) have to pay it or you won't be able to distribute your Metro app anywhere else.

I love Windows for it's openness and that it allowed so many simple but powerful utility / tool apps. These are the small missing pieces of Windows what made it the perfect productivity system (at least for me). With the new centralized Store forced policies Metro apps won't have the freedom of 'traditional' desktop apps.

Wednesday, June 13, 2012 6:46 PM

All replies

• Hi Viktor Benei,