none
ObservableCollection Filter

Question

• Hi,

Im new to working with data in this kind of way and have tied myself in knots trying to figure out how to filter an observable collection that is displayed in a listview.

I have a class that defines the data and another class that houses the ViewModel.

Public Class TasksViewModel
        Implements INotifyPropertyChanged
        Sub New()

End Sub

Public Event PropertyChanged(sender As Object, e As PropertyChangedEventArgs) Implements INotifyPropertyChanged.PropertyChanged
        Private Sub NotifyPropertyChanged(ByVal propName As String)
            RaiseEvent PropertyChanged(Me, New PropertyChangedEventArgs(propName))
        End Sub

Private _TaskList As ObservableCollection(Of Task)
        Public Property TaskList() As ObservableCollection(Of Task)
            Get
                Return _TaskList
            End Get
            Set(ByVal value As ObservableCollection(Of Task))
                _TaskList = value
                NotifyPropertyChanged("TaskList")
            End Set
        End Property
    End Class

I bind my ListView to the TaskList that is described in the above class and it all works great.

Also (and I don't know if this makes any difference) I populate the TaskList from a saved data file.

what I would like to do is to filter the list depending on the state of one of the properties (for example, is something complete?)

I have looked a examples but cannot get it to work and more importantly don't understand the thinking behind them.

Could someone please point me in the right direction?

Thanks

Gimbal

Thursday, October 24, 2013 4:19 PM

Answers

• Using two collections is a good approach.  In your view model you would have something like this:

private ObservableCollection<ItemViewModel> _filteredData;

public ObservableCollection<ItemViewModel> FilteredData
    {
           get { return _filteredData; }
           set { _filteredData = value; RaisePropertyChanged("FilteredData"); }