none
PDF Viewer in Metro / windows phone 8 application.

Question

• Hi,

I'm new to metro application development. I'm doing a magazine reader application for windows 8 & windows phone 8. The  magazine pages are in pdf  format, doing many search, i came to know that there is no native pdf control for metro app as well as windows phone 8 app.Is there any other method to view pdf inside the application?? I have seen some suggested third party tools(eg: foxit,pdf.net etc), but they don't meet my need. Any help would be appreciated..!!!!!!!!

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 9:26 AM

Answers

All replies

• no.. think the 3th party controls are the best way to go..

or develop one yourself

Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer - Windows Store Apps Using C#

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 9:34 AM
  • SyncFusion has a library called Essential PDF which is part of their Win RT control set.

I am using their Excel library and liked it buy it after playing around with the trial.

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 5:11 PM
  • Hi,

I'm new to metro application development. I'm doing a magazine reader application for windows 8 & windows phone 8. The  magazine pages are in pdf  format, doing many search, i came to know that there is no native pdf control for metro app as well as windows phone 8 app.Is there any other method to view pdf inside the application?? I have seen some suggested third party tools(eg: foxit,pdf.net etc), but they don't meet my need. Any help would be appreciated..!!!!!!!!

Why don't the controls fit your needs? What do you need to do specifically? I have been researching this for a while. There's no cheap alternative, but there are a number of them available now.
    Thursday, February 07, 2013 4:43 AM
  • SyncFusion has a library called Essential PDF which is part of their Win RT control set.

I am using their Excel library and liked it buy it after playing around with the trial.

This doesn't support viewing PDFs.
    Friday, February 08, 2013 12:51 PM