none
How do I resolve compiler error for driver: error : Driver Deployment Task Failed: Driver Install

Question

• I'll start by admitting I'm a noob at writing Kernel Mode Software-Only Drivers.  With that said:

I'm now getting a compilation error for my driver when I use Visual Studio 2011 to build and deploy the driver to the configured remote box.  The error I get is:

error : Driver Deployment Task Failed: Driver Install

When I watch the cmd windows that display on the remote box as VS is attempting to deploy the driver, one output does display the following error:

----------------------------------------------------

Executing command line: "C:\DriverTest\DevCon.exe"

Process Exit code: 3

Exit Code does NOT match a valid passing exit code

The system cannot find the path specified.

Failed: Process failed to complete successfully

EndGroup: DriverTestTasks::_RunProcess [Failed]

Non-passing Tests:

DriverTestTask::_RunProcess [Failed]

-----------------------------------------------------

My question is How can I get more information (Verbose mode?) with respect to what exactly is failing?

Now, I do know what I had change which is causing the error, I just don't know why.  What I changed was, in the .INF file I ORIGINALLY had:

---- ORIGINAL ---- (slight change in names to protect client)

[Manufacturer]
    %ManufacturerName%=Standard,NT$ARCH$

[Standard.NT$ARCH$]
    %MyDevice.DeviceDesc% = MyDevice_Device, Root\SysInfo

---- ERROR ---- [Manufacturer]
    %ManufacturerName%=Standard,NT$ARCH$

[Standard.NT$ARCH$]
    %MyDevice.DeviceDesc% = MyDevice_Device, Root\WdfBasic  <<--- Changed per Reference docs to indicate this is a Software-Only Driver