none
How to retrieve ID and add rows to data table in the database

Întrebare

• Hi All!

I am a newbie to VB.NET.

I have an Access 2007 database which has 5 tables related to one another in a Parent-Child relationship. I have an application in which I enter details of a pastor into text boxes and 2 ComboBoxes, one for selecting District and the other for selecting Block (sub-district) and a CheckedListBox called VillageChkListBox1 on a form. 

The user enters details of a pastor into the TextBoxes and chooses a District from the District ComboBox which filters the Block ComboBox to display only Blocks (sub-districts) based on the selection from the District ComboBox. Based on the selection made in the Block ComboBox, the CheckedListBox is populated with the list of villages which the user can check mark for the particular pastor. 

I use the BindingNavigator bar at the top of the form to save the details entered into the database. The user presses the, '+' sign to do all the adds and the floppy sign to do all the saves. 

The new pastor details entered into the textboxes are saved in the Pastor table of the database and the villages selected from the CheckedListBox goes into a separate table called the PastVillage table. 

The PastVillage table has PastVillID(Auto-number field), PastorID, VillID among other fields in the database table.

My question is, how can I retrieve the PastorID from the Pastor table and the checked villages from the CheckedListBox and save both of them by adding rows to the PastVillage table in Access ??

Can anyone please help me out ?

Regards,

~~Maneesh

4 aprilie 2012 03:28

Toate mesajele

• Hi Maneesh,

Are you using typed dataset to include the 5 data tables?  If so, the auto-generated ID key from the database will be retrieved from the database side to the client app side automatically after the object is new created and saved in the database.