none
Designer error

Question

• I recieve the following set of errors in the designer tab when I try and compile my program. I am new at using Windows Forms. I know you are not supposed to write code in the automatically generated code, but I don't know where else to put it. Could this be the problem?

C++ CodeDOM parser error: Internal Error
    Hide    

at Microsoft.VisualC.CppCodeParser.OnMethodPopulateStatements(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.CodeDom.CodeMemberMethod.get_Statements()
    at System.ComponentModel.Design.Serialization.TypeCodeDomSerializer.Deserialize(IDesignerSerializationManager manager, CodeTypeDeclaration declaration)
    at System.ComponentModel.Design.Serialization.CodeDomDesignerLoader.PerformLoad(IDesignerSerializationManager manager)
    at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Design.Serialization.CodeDom.VSCodeDomDesignerLoader.PerformLoad(IDesignerSerializationManager serializationManager)
    at System.ComponentModel.Design.Serialization.BasicDesignerLoader.BeginLoad(IDesignerLoaderHost host)

Sunday, October 08, 2006 9:39 PM

All replies

• you are not supposed to put code in the automatically generated part, like in the initialize component method.

suppose, you put the following code in initialize component
    this->Text = count;
    you get an error window on the desinger similar to this though the error description might be different

if you put the following code
    this->Text = "Text1";
    the code is valid and you see the form caption change to "Text1".

Now suppose you add a button to the form by dragging from the toolbox, all the changes you made to the code are gone (like the statement above this->Text = "Text1").

Tuesday, October 10, 2006 12:25 AM
  • Where am I supposed to put the code that I write?
    Wednesday, October 11, 2006 2:53 PM
  • anywhere outside, in your OnLoad override, eventhandlers, etc.
    Thursday, October 12, 2006 12:33 PM
  • Probably in the constructor
    Saturday, October 14, 2006 2:38 AM