none
Deploy multiple exe using Clickonce

Question

• Hi there,

I'm kinda new to the whole Clickonce process; but here's my problem. I can manage to publish my application main exe on my local IIS (IIS7, windows vista) but what I need, is to publish my whole application: My application is made from a main exe (Menu.exe) which shells a few other exe. It doesn't seem possible to include the other exe in the publish process from VS2008 so I tried to do it with MageUI.exe of the 3.5 SDK kit.

The install process seems to work until the application tries to fetch one of the secondary exe where i get an error:

System.Deployment.Application.InvalidDeploymentException (RefDefValidation)

It says something like "Reference in the manifest does not match the downloaded assembly identity for AppStartup.exe" Which is the first exe it tried to fetch when i click "Install" on the clickonce install window.

Any help would be welcome, I really have no clue how to deploy a multi-exe application ...

Best regards,

Fred

Wednesday, November 05, 2008 9:43 PM

Answers

• Hi Freddy Mercury

Please download the sample from my SkyDrive WindowsFormsApplication1.rar. In this sample, I have create two project with two EXE. I added “WindowsFormsApplication2.exe” to the “WindowsFormsApplication1” project. Then I built an published the WindowsFormsApplication1. Then both app1 and app2 had been published to the local IIS, you can try to test it.

If you have any question, please feel free to tell me.

Sincerely,

Kira Qian

Tuesday, November 11, 2008 2:25 AM

All replies

• Hi Fred

ClickOnce doesn’t support to publish multi-project output. If you really want to include the EXE built by other project, you need to add these files to your current project,  then you can include them as the application files. While MSI support multi-project output. You can add more than one out put of your projects.

If I have misunderstood your meaning, please tell me.

Sincerely,

Kira Qian