none
BindingSource and INotifyPropertyChanged on a non-UI thread

Question

• Hi,

while working on my entry for Code'n My Way to PDC, I have encountered two problem that are not easy to work around.

Here's the situation - I have a master/detail "views", master is DataGridView bound through BindingSource to an IEnumerator<Detail> (where Detail is some class) and detail is a user control with a few Labels bound through another BindingSource to properties of Detail object. I manually track which Detail object is "current" by responding to PositionChanged event of the first BindingSource object.

Due to the nature of application, I receive asynchronous callbacks on threads from a thread pool and update the values in Detail object(s) accordingly. Then I (naturally) fire PropertyChanged (Detail implements INotifyPropertyChanged) event. Unfortunately, the event gets fired in the context of non-UI thread and one would expect that neither DataGridView nor the Labels in detail view would get updated, or even worse that the app would crash or freeze.

Tests show that DataGridView does get updated, but Label controls in the detail view do not. Why does update of DataGridView work??

Observation 1: as noted in another thread of this forum, if I update Detail object represented in non-current row of DataGridView, that other row is not (in UI sense) updated/refreshed, but I understood that this has been fixed in a post-beta 2 build.

Observation 2: when I simulate conditions and update my Detail objects through a Windows.Forms.Timer and thus always stay on the UI thread, everything works fine, so it's just the threading issue and not the data binding code issue.