none
How to call a basic C# DLL

Pregunta

• I am experimenting with a few ways of doing things and have seen that if I have routines that are used in multiple projects, then I can create that code in a DLL & call it from those different projects thereby removing the need for repeating code.

I've started off by just creating a small program that will tell me what version of Windows I am running, but in this case I don't need to pass anything to the DLL, I just want to call it and read the results ... how do I do this ?!?

This is my code and I think it will work, but I have written it to accept data & obviously I don't actually need to supply any parameters, what do I need to do ? Sorry, I am new to C# and am having real trouble getting my head around the terminology, let alone the logic !!!

using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Linq;
    using System.Text;

namespace MyWindowsVersion
    {
        public class WindowsVersion
        {
            public static string myNull(string myOSver)
            {
                String myStr = Environment.OSVersion.Version.ToString();

int myOSver1 = int.Parse(myStr.Substring(0,1));
                int myOSver3 = int.Parse(myStr.Substring(0,3));

if (myOSver1 < 5)
                    myOSver = "Windows version prior to XP";
                else if (myOSver3 < 5.1)
                    myOSver = "Windows version prior to XP";
                else if (myOSver3 < 6.0)
                    myOSver = "Windows XP";
                else if (myOSver3 < 6.1)
                    myOSver = "Windows Vista";
                else if (myOSver3 == 6.1)
                    myOSver = "Windows 7";
                else myOSver = "Windows Unknown Version";

return (myOSver);
            }
        }
    }

As you can see, I don't know how to write it so that it isn't expecting a parameter, so I've assigned the string to be returned in the "Public Static" line, is that the way around this ?