none
How to get data out of an XML file in C#

Pregunta

• Hi there,

I'm a newbie to programming with C#, so please help in anyway you can Thanks.

Using:
    MS Visual C# 2005 express edition on Windows XP.

What I'm trying to do:
    I would like to extract just a couple of pieces of information from a data file, for example this XML created file:
    =======File starts=======
    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    <!-- created by the MBM 5 logger.dll -->
    <MBM_INTERVAL>
    <Log Date="05/03/2006" Time="18:26:03" CPU="3205 MHz" T_Case="32&#186; C" T_CPU="47&#186; C" T_PSU="-48&#186; C" V_Core_0="1.34 V" V_Core_1="3.14 V" V_3.3="3.22 V" V_5.00="5.05 V" V_12.00="11.97 V" V_Minus_12.00="0.00 V" V_Minus_5.00="0.00 V" F_Fan_1="2616 RPM" F_Fan_2="1962 RPM" F_Fan_3="0 RPM"/>
    </MBM_INTERVAL>
    =======File End======

I would like to extract the CPU temp (T_CPU) or other temps or bits of data from the log file.

If it's of help I can also save in these data formats:
    Plain TXT file, CSV, HTML and XML.  Just in case I'm doing it the hard way trying to work with XML data.

Thanks for any help or advice for a newb.

domingo, 05 de marzo de 2006 18:40

Respuestas

• hi,

this is called xpath you use to search for particular node text or attribute text in your case t_cpu is called attribute you can read attribute like you read childnode in xpath but you start the name with @ so you start it with @T_CPU not like the node name, you can try something like this

System.Xml.XmlDocument myxmldoc = new System.Xml.XmlDocument();
    myxmldoc.Load(
    "MyXMLFile1.xml");//if you have the xmlfile outside the solution explorer insert the full path to it

//read single node

string messg = myxmldoc.SelectSingleNode("MBM_INTERVAL/Log/@T_CPU").InnerText ;
    MessageBox.Show(messg);
    //read a collection of nodes if your file have many <Log> nodes

System.Xml.XmlNodeList mynodes = myxmldoc.SelectNodes("MBM_INTERVAL/Log/@T_CPU");
    foreach (System.Xml.XmlNode mynode in mynodes)
    {