none
Search Database using Excel Userform

Question

• Hi,

As a bit of background i have an excel userform which communicates with a database, i know this is not ideal but most of the users of this application do not have access to microsoft access. I am trying to use my Excel userform to search an Access database and return the values of the data set. E.g

Table Name : Employees

Field 1: EmployeeID to textboxEmpID

Field 2: EmployeeName to textboxEmpName

etc, i currently have code which counts the records which i have posted below. My question is.. is this possible, i am a novice and cannot current get my head around this. Any help would be greatly appreicated

'Set Searchstring for Breach
        Set rs = New ADODB.Recordset
        searchstring = "SELECT * FROM SwitchingFeedbackLog WHERE [UserFeedback] = " & Pers & " AND [Breach] = ""Yes"" AND [DateKeyed] >= " & DateFrom & " And [DateKeyed] <= " & DateTo
        rs.Open searchstring, cn, adOpenStatic
        totalBreach = rs.RecordCount
        tbNoOfBreaches.Value = totalBreach
        Set rs = Nothing

• Moved by Mark Liu-lxfModerator Thursday, January 26, 2012 8:17 AM VBA issue (From:Visual Basic General)
    Monday, January 23, 2012 9:36 AM

Answers

• Hi Cken21,

This queue is about Visual Basic in Visual Studio. I’m afraid that your topic about VBA is unsuitable here. For better support, I will move this thread to Visual Basic for Applications (VBA) forum.

I’m not familiar with VBA. I wondered why not use the cells in the Excel instead of using a textbox control to store the data. In this way, you can edit the data easily. Here is a sample about load a table in Access2007 to Excel (VBA code), hope it helps.

Sub sampl2()
        Dim AlexCon As ADODB.Connection
        Set AlexCon = New ADODB.Connection
        Dim AlexRS As ADODB.Recordset
        Set AlexRS = New ADODB.Recordset
         AlexCon.Open "Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=C:\work\Bobble1.accdb;Persist Security Info=False;"