none
WCF client and WS-Security

Question

• Hi

I am pretty new to WCF, but experienced with .NET and C# in general.  I have a task at work that is a little unique.  I just got some of the details and still working on getting full details, but I think what I know now is enough to ask this question and give enough of what I'll need to do to hopefully get some direction from some of the WCF experts here.

Basically, I'll be building a client that needs to send a SOAP message to a remote web service (our customer) that is not .NET on the server side.  We have to first go through an initial call that gets back a cookie, then we have to do something with that cookie and from that we can "manually/programmatically" build our SOAP message to POST to the service.  We need to encrypt the SOAP message, so WS-Security is involved.

All of this has to be done programmatically, not using a proxy built with svcutil, etc.  This is because of the cookie scenario where we have to talk to an intermediate server first, get the cookie, then build the SOAP, then encrypt, then built an HttpWebRequest to post to the remote service.

I'm interested in suggestions, but this has to be done fast so any recommendations for "a better way to do it would be...." are appreciated, but at this point we have to get this done yesterday (and I still don't know all the details...joy).  So if there are SOAP classes to use, WCF classes, etc to 1) build the SOAP and 2) encrypt using WS-Security that I can use programmatically to basically do what a proxy and the WCF run-time would do for me, please let me know.

I VERY much appreciate ANY input you might have!!

Friday, June 05, 2009 1:48 PM

All replies

• First off all if I understaood well you have  2 issues in your post:
    One is defined a custom soap message and then encrypt the message.