none
Will I be able to install Visual Studio on Microsoft Surface RT?

Question

• I am planning to buy a Microsoft Surface device and I cannot decide which would I buy. I'm still a student, though I script C# in Visual C# Express 2008, 2010 and the Visual Studio 2012 RC version during most of the day and nothing seemed more legit than buying a Microsoft tablet, to have both a laptop and a gadget (tablet) at the same time. 

I cannot decide which Surface to buy, RT or PRO. The Pro costs way more and will come out monthes later and I really want to get started. The only thing that confuses me is - Will I be able to develop applications normally on Surface RT? And will I be able to develop and debug regular programs on the Surface RT, kind of programs (applications) that can run on other devices like a computer.

Thanks in regards, Kfir.

Friday, September 21, 2012 5:27 PM

Answers

• Taking in consideration all the information available there is not any version of VS compiled for ARM yet. In another hand, I believe that you will need a device with a little bit of more resources so the PRO version is your only option.

Ctitanic ultramobilepc-tips.com

Saturday, September 22, 2012 1:52 PM

All replies

• Taking in consideration all the information available there is not any version of VS compiled for ARM yet. In another hand, I believe that you will need a device with a little bit of more resources so the PRO version is your only option.

Ctitanic ultramobilepc-tips.com

Saturday, September 22, 2012 1:52 PM
  • You need the Pro model (Full Windows 8, not Windows RT) to run Visual Studio...
    Monday, September 24, 2012 9:47 AM
  • I can't imagine doing any serious development work on a 10" screen.
    Monday, September 24, 2012 12:51 PM
  • The Surface Pro will have micro-HDMI out - so it can be connected to any display :).

Monday, September 24, 2012 1:00 PM