none
actionspanecontrol v.s. usercontrol

Question

• I am new to vsto 2005,  and have a few questions.

1- is task pane and action pane the same thing ?

2- in creating a word project , I can do :

this.ActionsPane.Controls.Add(new UserControl1());

this.ActionsPane.Controls.Add(new ActionsPaneControl1());

is there only one actionpane for a word document, ? can we add more and how ?

3- what is the difference of usercontrol v.s. actionspanecontrol ?

thanks.

Wednesday, June 21, 2006 7:37 PM

Answers

• I'm surprised that things continued to work after uninstalling VSTO2005. The VSTO v3 June CTP is supposed to be installed on top of VSTO2005. Some of the problems you're seeing might be because of that. I'd recommend installing VSTO2005 again and then installing the VSTO v3 June CTP after that.

Unlike the ActionsPane, CustomTaskPanes are application level and can be created via the VSTO v3 CTP add-in projects. So you should create an InfoPath add-in project (not an InfoPath doc level project).

There's a brief demo you can watch here: http://blogs.msdn.com/vsto2/ that shows how to create custom task panes.

There's also some documentation about the custom task pane in the following VSTO v3 tutorial: http://download.microsoft.com/download/5/5/8/55826AC5-FF9A-461D-ABC3-477E9D1829A7/VSTOv3CTPTutorial.doc

Hope that helps!

Thursday, June 22, 2006 8:52 AM
  • It doesn't map over all so simply. I'm sorry the docs aren't ready yet, so I'll say what I can here, but I can't help much more than this. 

thisXDocument.View.SwitchView = ViewInfos.SwitchView

thisXDocument.UI.Alert = Windows.Forms.MessageBox

(Note that this doesn't work in browser forms so you'll want to use conditional formatting instead to show/hide messages, there's no code way to show dialog boxes from the server)

IXMLDOMDocument3 = System.Xml.XPathNavigator

(the old MSXML concepts are replaced by System.Xml, so this is where you'll have to do the most rewriting of your code)