none
command line options '/ZI' and '/02' are incompatible

Question

• I am compiling my Vc++ code in Release mode and i am getting one error.."command line options '/ZI' and '/02' are incompatible" ...what does this error mean?? how to get rid off it?? plz help...um stuck at dead end...
    Thursday, September 27, 2007 3:53 PM

Answers

• hi .....
                         Sorry, i committed a silly mistake(That was all in frustration) also ,i am very new to VC++....But there's a good news...

I added a special option '/VERBOSE' which helped me to see the way my compiler calls and loads modules/libraries....there i found that loading  'nspr4.lib'  failed....i added this library in my 'object/Module' list and My compilation was successful....The 'Debug assertion Failed' error also vanished... Every thing seems to be working....Thanx
    Friday, September 28, 2007 4:57 PM

All replies

• It means that if you are compiling with optimizations (/O2) then you cannot also create the necessary data layout to support edit and continue (/ZI).

Go to: project -> Properties -> Configuration Properties -> C/C++ -> General and change "Debug Information Format" from "Program Database for Edit & Continue (/ZI)" to "Progam Database (/Zi)"

Thursday, September 27, 2007 4:03 PM
  • Thanx Jonathan....It's already 10:05pm in india...I am Out of office Now...i will implement your solution tommorow and hopefully i'll give you some gud news...
    Thursday, September 27, 2007 4:36 PM
  • Hi :Jonathan Caves

i Did what you said...but doing so i am getting Some errors again....some errors related to Xpcomglue library...

I am using Vc++ Enterprise edition 6.0....

below are my detailed project settings...though these are not complete Settings but i think these will help you out to solve my problem....

PROJECT SETTINGS
                                                           SETTINGS FOR : Win32 Release

GENERAL :