none
Relative path for Reference within imported project

Question

• I am new to MSBuild and feel I must be missing something obvious.

I am importing a .csproj file into a .proj in the parent directory.  When I try and build the .proj I get errors about not being able to find files that are references that have a relative HintPath.  An example of the Reference in the .csproj is:

<Reference Include="Win32Security, Version=3.0.3400.16741, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=f2e3d021a3694e92, processorArchitecture=MSIL">
    <SpecificVersion>False</SpecificVersion>
    <HintPath>..\Support Projects\Win32SecurityV05\DLLs\Win32Security.dll</HintPath>
    </Reference>

If the .proj is in the same directory as the .csproj it works fine.  If I change the HintPaths to be relative to the .proj file then it works from MSBuild but not from Visual Studio.

What am I missing? 

Thanks,
    -Mont

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 10:12 PM

All replies

• Hi Mont,

All relative paths in imported projects are interpreted relative to the directory of the imported project. Therefore, if a project file is imported into several project files in different locations, the relative paths in the imported project file will be interpreted differently for each imported project. For more information, please see:

Import Element (MSBuild)

And I recommend you use $(MSBuildProjectDirectory) in your path, otherwise, Visual Studio maybe not find the path.

Best Regards,

Nancy

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.
    Welcome to the All-In-One Code Framework! If you have any feedback, please tell us.
    Thursday, May 27, 2010 2:56 AM
  • Hello Nancy,

When I go into the .csproj file and edit the HintPath to use $(MSBuildProjectDirectory) and then try and build in Visual Studio (2008) it is unable to resolve the reference to the assembly.

Do you know how I can get this to work with Visual Studio?

Thanks,
    -Mont