none
Which version (if any) of Visual Studio should I buy?

Question

• Good afternoon!

I currently use Visual Studio 2005, and I'm curious if I should upgrade to 2008.

I have been writing commerical Windows applications in C since 1993. In the old days, I would buy ads in computer magazines and sell CDs to people through an 800-number. Now, of course, I sell directly to consumers on the internet. However, my programming style hasn't changed much. The products are still primarly in C (about 10% of the code is C++, and it all compiles as C++ files). The code is still "structured", not object-oriented. And the applications do not feature 3-D graphics or internet connectivity.

When I read about new versions of Visual Studio, it seems like Microsoft is adding a lot of features that I don't need. Although my company has had as many as 10 programmers on payroll, I have found that it is more profitable, and more enjoyable, to be a single-person shop.

So, is there any reason I should upgrade to Visual Studio 2008? If so, should I just buy the C++ "Express" edition (since I only ever code in C and C++). Or should I buy the full suite? Do I need to renew my MSDN subscription for any reason?

My primary goals for an upgrade would be:

1) Improved application speed (just by recompiling).
    2) Profiling tools (to help me manually make performance improvements).
    3) Better browsing and debugging tools.
    4) Integrated tools that help with code cleanup and refactoring (although I'm a bit of a curmudgeon and I might not like whatever MS had integrated, I'm still willing to try something if others recommend it).

I don't care about "Team" tools, and that seems to be the only thing the MS web site cares about. We used to use Perforce because it was much better IMHO that anything MS included. However, I expect to be a 1-man development team for the next several years, so I no longer need any of these products.

Thanks!

ST
    Saturday, March 14, 2009 8:17 PM

Answers