none
Problem using WMI

Question

• HI all,

I am quite new to C++. Recently, I am working on a project that requires me to get the processorId from computers. After a quick search on the internet, I found that WMI is the what I need. Subsequently, I get the following code from MSDN (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa390423(VS.85).aspx):

#define _WIN32_DCOM
    #include <iostream>
    using namespace std;
    #include <comdef.h>
    #include <Wbemidl.h>

# pragma comment(lib, "wbemuuid.lib")

int main(int argc, char **argv)
    {
    HRESULT hres;

// Step 1: --------------------------------------------------
    // Initialize COM. ------------------------------------------

hres = CoInitializeEx(0, COINIT_MULTITHREADED);
    if (FAILED(hres))
    {
    cout << "Failed to initialize COM library. Error code = 0x"
    << hex << hres << endl;
    return 1; // Program has failed.
    }

// Step 2: --------------------------------------------------
    // Set general COM security levels --------------------------
    // Note: If you are using Windows 2000, you need to specify -
    // the default authentication credentials for a user by using
    // a SOLE_AUTHENTICATION_LIST structure in the pAuthList ----
    // parameter of CoInitializeSecurity ------------------------

hres = CoInitializeSecurity(
    NULL,
    -1, // COM authentication
    NULL, // Authentication services
    NULL, // Reserved
    RPC_C_AUTHN_LEVEL_DEFAULT, // Default authentication
    RPC_C_IMP_LEVEL_IMPERSONATE, // Default Impersonation
    NULL, // Authentication info
    EOAC_NONE, // Additional capabilities
    NULL // Reserved
    );

if (FAILED(hres))
    {
    cout << "Failed to initialize security. Error code = 0x"
    << hex << hres << endl;
    CoUninitialize();
    }

// Step 3: ---------------------------------------------------
    // Obtain the initial locator to WMI -------------------------

IWbemLocator *pLoc = NULL;

hres = CoCreateInstance(
    CLSID_WbemLocator,