none
Toggle Display Edit Mode with corresponding template

Question

• Hi,

I have an itemscontrol that shows a list of phone numbers for a particular account.  I am able to get the phone numbers to display and get everything bound properly.  What I want to do is to make it so that when you click on a phone number, it switches templates and becomes editable.  I don't want to do this just using a textbox with readonly or anything like that.  I completely want to switch out the content for edit mode.  I've tried this several different ways and it's so very close to working but not quite there.  Here's where I'm at now.

I created a custom control called EditPanel that subclasses ContentControl.

Code Snippet

public class EditPanel : ContentControl
        {
            private EditPanelItem _editItemPanel;

static EditPanel()

{
                DefaultStyleKeyProperty.OverrideMetadata(typeof(EditPanel), new FrameworkPropertyMetadata(typeof(EditPanel)));
            }

protected override void OnInitialized(EventArgs e)
            {
                base.OnInitialized(e);

_editItemPanel = new EditPanelItem();
                _editItemPanel.ItemDisplayContentTemplate = DisplayContentTemplate;
                _editItemPanel.ItemEditContentTemplate = EditContentTemplate;

this.Content = _editItemPanel;
            }

The rest of the class just specifies two attached properties (both ControlTemplate), EditContentTemplate and DisplayContentTemplate.  This class is basically just a wraper around EditPanelItem which is a user control that displays the content differently for edit and display modes.  It uses an IsInEditMode bool attached property to toggle the template for edit mode.  It also contains a <ContentControl /> in the Display and Edit ControlTemplates, and the ItemDisplayContentTemplate and ItemEditContentTemplate templates are set on the corresponding <ContentControl />s.

Back to my ItemsControl. The DataTemplate looks like this:

Code Snippet