none
Iterations through a Dataset/datagrid

Question

• I am new to C# and dataset/datagrid processing.  When saving any changes, I need to know how to iterate through changed rows to evaluate column contents for validation.  The information I have at my disposal does not show any examples.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Wednesday, September 13, 2006 11:26 PM

Answers

• yes my fault, it should have been DataColumn! Ive modified the post now.

how are you checking against DBNull? Tried this?

foreach(DataRow currentRow in theModifiedRows.Rows)

{

foreach(DataColumn currentColumn in theModifiedRows.Columns)

{

if (currentRow[currentColumn] != DBNull.Value)

{

object currentColumnValue = currentRow[currentColumn]

}

}

}

Thursday, September 14, 2006 3:02 PM

All replies

• you can get the modified rows of data in the dataset:

DataTable theModifiedCollection = theDataSet.Tables[0].GetChanges(DataRowState.Modified);

then you can go through the rows/columns of the "theModifiedCollection" and do your validation. Or you could validate the entire dataset, but this would be ineffecient as you may have x amount of rows of data, could be 10's or 100's or 1000's so doing it the way I have shown would be better as it would only get the rows of data that have been modified only.

does this help?

Thursday, September 14, 2006 2:27 AM
  • The part

DataTable theModifiedCollection = theDataSet.Tables[0].GetChanges(DataRowState.Modified);

I was aware of. But where I am stuck is once  I get the modified rows, I need to validate each one of them, I suppose through a loop.

I need to know how to reference the row/column of each of the rows deteremined in the statement above.

Thanks

Thursday, September 14, 2006 11:38 AM
  • to go through each row:

{

{

}

}

does this help?

Thursday, September 14, 2006 1:00 PM