none
WPF Binding multiple DataContexts

Question

• Hi! I have several columns in one Gridview and I have to bind two different objects to it. since I'm a beginner I took an example from the web.

<Window x:Class="WpfApplication17.MainWindow"
        xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation"
        xmlns:x="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml"
        DataContext="{Binding RelativeSource={RelativeSource Self}}"
        Title="MainWindow" Height="350" Width="525">
      <Grid>
        <StackPanel>
          <ListView Name="MyListview" ItemsSource="{Binding GameCollection}">
            <ListView.View>
              <GridView>
                <GridViewColumn Width="140" Header="Game Name" DisplayMemberBinding="{Binding GameName}" />
                <GridViewColumn Width="140" Header="Creator" DisplayMemberBinding="{Binding Creator}" />
                <GridViewColumn Width="140" Header="Publisher" DisplayMemberBinding="{Binding Publisher}" />
              </GridView>
            </ListView.View>
          </ListView>
          <Button HorizontalAlignment="Right" Margin="5,5,5,5" Content="Add Row" Click="AddRow_Click" />
        </StackPanel>
      </Grid>
    </Window>

Basically I want to rewrite this code without {Binding RelativeSource={RelativeSource Self}} and add two Objects as DataSources to one grid

Any help appreciated!

Thank you very much!

Mat

Tuesday, May 31, 2011 6:49 PM

Answers

• This isn't going to work with 2 collections, as you have described.  You'll need to make a class that "joins" these data elements into a single instance if you want to access members from both inside of a single data grid.

Reed Copsey, Jr. - http://reedcopsey.com
    If a post answers your question, please click "Mark As Answer" on that post and "Mark as Helpful".
    • Marked as answer by MaGraBa Tuesday, May 31, 2011 7:55 PM
    Tuesday, May 31, 2011 7:17 PM

All replies