none
problem with menustrips in vs 2005

Question

• Hi,

i'm new to using visual studio2005. in my application i'm using menu strips and there i have added one toolstripmenu item and one toolstrip separator. and I also added some toolstrip menu items dynamically.

the problem is when i want to access those menuitems using the for each loop i'm getting an exception that unable to cast from the tool strip menu item to tool stripseparator.

I'll paste the part of the code here to understand my problem clrear.

regards

GRK

code:

Dim item As New ToolStripMenuItem(dev.Identity.ProductName, Nothing, New EventHandler(AddressOf OnDeviceClick))

Me.  ChooseDeviceToolStripMenuItem.DropDownItems.Add(item)

Next

Private Sub OnDeviceClick(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As EventArgs)

Try

If TypeOf sender Is ToolStripMenuItem Then

' Make sure it's closed.

Dim item As ToolStripMenuItem

For Each item In ChooseDeviceToolStripMenuItem.DropDownItems

item.Checked = False

Next

item = CType(sender, ToolStripMenuItem)

item.Checked = True

End If

Catch ex As Exception

MessageBox.Show(ex.Message, SD_Ex_Caption)

End Try

Tuesday, February 06, 2007 9:50 AM

Answers

• "Thanks for the information."  It must have worked for somebody...

ToolStripMenuItems have a Checked property (otherwise you wouldn't be messing with them!), so the code should work.  Maybe after verifying that it's not a separator, cast the item as a ToolStripMenuItem and then try to set its Checked property to False.

You're only allowing one selection at a time, so I'd scrap the menu items and make it a combo box instead.  They're a lot easier to deal with, and they can be built into ToolStrips as well.  Pre-load "Select a printer" as the top option, and dynamically add printer names to the item list.  Use SelectedIndex (-1 if you use the "Select a printer" on top) to refer back to your device list to get details on the device, or use the Text property if you just need the printer name.