none
Create an application in Visual Basic that runs in full screen.

Question

• Hello!

My name is Orens Xhagolli and I am a between Beginner-Intermediate level. I am trying to create a little game with nice-looking and good options in Visual Basic.net. A good game needs to run in full screen. (Because the new directX is not suitable for my age (13) I don't want to use it and beacuse its a bit difficult to use it.) I read a few answers in MSDN forums but the full screen there doesn't take the entire screen ( The taskbar is visible ).

If you can help me, please do it. This would mean very much for me.

If you can help me with DirectX codes that works with DirectX SDK March 2009 for Visual Basic would be another good thing.
    Monday, June 22, 2009 9:25 PM

Answers

All replies

• I just searched this forum and found this thread.  I tested it and it works...the taskbar does not show.  Look at the VB code in the reply marked as the Answer:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/vbgeneral/thread/ae6f5d32-03d7-4e75-ae22-0104a2dfd5b6/

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load  
            Me.Size = SystemInformation.PrimaryMonitorSize  
            Me.Location = New Point(0, 0)  
            Me.TopMost = True 
        End Sub

Try it in a test project.  Set the FormBorderStyle to None.  Add a button to the form and set its anchor property to Top, Left, Right, Bottom and in the Button click event just type END so that you can stop the program.

Doug

SEARCH ... then ask
    • Proposed as answer by ShariqDON Friday, October 02, 2009 6:41 AM
    Monday, June 22, 2009 9:51 PM
  • .NET would not be any less difficult, as both use the same interfaces. (DirectX is mostly COM, which works the same way as .NET classes do.)