none
Numeric textbox validation in Visual Basic.net 2010 (Windows 7)

Question

• Yes, I'm fairly new to this but I've been searching for solutions and nothing has worked. I simply want to have a user enter a number, e.g., 3.5, into a textbox and then click a button to process it. If nothing or a char or string is entered, I want to inform them to enter the number and clear the box. From a suggestion somewhere it was said to simply use validating.  I thought e.handled was correct by that doesn't show up as an option.  It works if the input is a number. If not, the messagebox shows and closes on OK but I can't do anything else. Any click (even to 'X' the window) anywhere brings up the messagebox. This is basically what I've tried:

Private Sub txtKidsAnswer_Validating(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.ComponentModel.CancelEventArgs) Handles txtOddsAnswer.Validating

If IsNumeric(txtKidsAnswer.Text) Then

Exit Sub

Else

MessageBox.Show("Please enter a numeric value between 1.0 and 20.0")

txtKidsAnswer.text = ””

e.Cancel = True

Exit Sub

End If

End Sub

I know, don't quit your day job. I guess I have two questions: What am I doing wrong? Why isn't e.handled allowed at this point?

Thursday, July 21, 2011 12:15 PM

Answers

• Clyde,

Here's one way that I think will work for you. Please be sure that you include an ErrorProvider.

CODE SNIPPET

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

Button1.Enabled = False

End Sub

Private Sub TextBox1_TextChanged(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles TextBox1.TextChanged

If TextBox1.Text = String.Empty Then
          Button1.Enabled = False
          ErrorProvider1.Clear()
        Else
          Button1.Enabled = True
        End If

End Sub

Private Sub TextBox1_Validating(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.ComponentModel.CancelEventArgs) Handles TextBox1.Validating

Dim testDouble As Double = 0