none
Creating own encryption algorithms

General discussion

• Hey there.

I'm studying a module about cryptography at the moment. Without any assistance from the college we have to design our own application to encrypt/decrypt a file based with a keyword input, including our own, uniquely designed but possibly flawed algorithms with no direct relation to any publically accessible open source/patended algorithms..

To get top marks asymmetric encryption is required, but I'm not going to be silly and pretend I'm skilled enough to master that in a few weeks.

When considering standard private key encryption, the problem I find is converting the keyword into a key as such. The word has officially got to be between 10 and 40 characters. Converting ASCII to bits shows 1 character as 8 bits, meaning 10 characters = 80 bits, and 40 characters = 320 bits.

So the big problem I've got is right at the start. How can I get from a random number of bits between 80 and 320 (even only) to a standard 128-bit key for example, WITHOUT using repetitive padding (easy to crack etc...)

Though this isn't a coding discussion at first thought, it will hopefully turn into that. And rather than asking for an answer, if anyone could assist in the thought process to getting to that answer, it would be much appreciated! I can worry about taking the key and converting into ciphertext once I have this first bit figured I guess. I'm struggling to even start coding without getting this sorted!

Thanks
    • Edited by Suggy Tuesday, November 04, 2008 10:53 PM
    Tuesday, November 04, 2008 10:48 PM

All replies

• I'm not sure what you're asking.  Are you asking how to convert a supplied encryption key that is between 10 and 40 characters to an 128-bit hash?  There's many ways.  you could perform some sort of algorithm on the data (like multiplying each byte in the data by the next) calculating a 128 number (Decimal values are 128-bits for example).