none
Getting over the dreaded "Access Denied" error with Directory.GetFiles

Question

• Hi,

I've been researching this topic quite a bit and cannot find an answer.

I am writing a utility where one of its function is to scan for certain file types. Naturally, I use the Directory.GetFiles function. I have code to ignore folders and/or files I don't have access to. So that isn't the issue. My issue is, I want to access those files.

The utility runs as a C# console application. I've included a custom manifest file that requires Administrator privileges to run. When I test this on my machine, my function won't even access Doc Settings/My Local Admin User/My Documents & My Pictures...etc.How is this possible?! If I am an Administrator on this machine, running a console app with administrator privileges, why can't I even access this folder? I even logged in as the main Administrator account and still can't get access.

I am running on Windows 7. Developing in VS 2010. .NET Framework 4.0.

The question: How do I gain access to the folders/files that give me an UnauthorizedAccessException? I know there is a way around this.

Many many thanks for helping me solve this.

Thursday, September 15, 2011 9:02 PM

Answers

All replies

• It's probably not running elevated.
    Thursday, September 15, 2011 9:22 PM
  • I added a custom manifest to the project and have it embedded. I know it runs as Administrator because when I run it from my the command window it asks for consent to run as Administrator. Is that what you mean?

If not, how do I run it elevated?

Thursday, September 15, 2011 9:36 PM
  • If you get a UAC prompt it's run elevated.

If you open PowerShell and navigate to the directory you're having problems with does [IO.Directory]::GetFiles() failes for the same reason.

Thursday, September 15, 2011 10:06 PM
  • I ran it on a few of the directories I was having problems with. Still can't get to any of them. Access Denied.
    Thursday, September 15, 2011 10:55 PM