none
Can't find Local Database in Visual C# 2013 express

Question

• Hi,

I'm new to Visual C# and using a book that is based off visual c# 2010. It's asking me to add a local database to my project, but I'm only finding Service-based Database in c# 2013 express. Does local no longer exist? I had local database in c# 2012 express.

Thanks in advance for answering my simple question.

Thursday, January 16, 2014 10:17 PM

Answers

• I wish that Microsoft did a better job of explain terminology of what is really occuring under the hood.  C# uses connection strings to interface to databases.  There is a wide variety of databases that are supported with the Net Library.  All uses connection strings.

VS C# has to menu driven GUI that automatically creates the connection string under the hood which is what Muzz826 is using.  You have the option of not using the GUI Wizard and writing code to create the connection.  I prefer avoiding Wizards because it makes it easier to copy code from projects and makes it easier to debug the code.  The code generated by the wizards are burried in the project properties folder in XML files.

A database is just a file.  All databases you provide and filename and driver in the connection string.  Some drivers are built into the Net library and others you use a driver not built int the Net Library.  Some databases you access by using filenames, others you can connect to through a Service, and some you can connect to either by filename or serverices.  There are many combinations of connection strings and the website www.connectionstrings.com is the first site to use to get a connection strings.  The wizard attempts to simplify the selection of connection strings.