none
Import data from Excel (custom sheet name)

Question

• Hi! I need to setup daily import of data from excel file into SQL database - preferrably through Visual Studio project (Visual Basic 2008). The problem is that I wouldn't know the name of the excel sheet. The excel file is created daily from different software and depending on amount of data on certain day - could have the sheet named as "Rows 1 to 5000" or "Rows 1 to 15582" and so on - therefore can't use 'Sheet1'. What is the easiest way to import data into SQL table? I'm still learning SQL and Visual Basic 2008 (have a programming background). I apperciate your help!
    Friday, July 24, 2009 1:11 PM

Answers

• The code iterates through each Worksheet in the Workbook (retrieved by GetSchema) and checks to see if there is a $ character at the end of the Worksheet name. When using data access Excel Worksheets are identified that way. Sometimes you will find two instances of the same Worksheet: One with a $ character at the end and one without. You just want to grab the one with the $ character.

Another way to check that is with the following code:

If Right(TableRow.Item("TABLE_NAME").ToString, 1) = "$" Then

The Console.Writeline statement just dumps each Worksheet name to the Output window. You probably want to replace that code and add each Worksheet name to a Collection or Array. Then you can run your export code for each Worksheet name in the Collection or Array.

Paul ~~~~ Microsoft MVP (Visual Basic)
    • Marked as answer by Alla2552 Friday, July 31, 2009 7:56 PM
    • Unmarked as answer by Alla2552 Monday, October 05, 2009 6:44 PM
    • Marked as answer by Alla2552 Monday, October 05, 2009 7:50 PM
    Friday, July 31, 2009 7:09 PM

All replies

• Are you sure you need a program? SQL has features to import data from many formats, including Excel. They were called DTS before, now they have a weird name, but it amounts to the same.