none
HorizontalAlignment

Question

• Hello,

(Disclaimer: I am new to VB .Net)

I am trying to create an application that automates a spreadsheet (creates worksheets, populates and formats). I want to center the column heading text.

This seems to work:

xlsheet.range("1:1").HorizontalAlignment = -4108

Why does this work (using -4108)? I suspect this is not the obvious way to do this.

Monday, February 06, 2006 7:23 PM

Answers

• Hi,

The code that you wrote works because it is valid syntax, but it isn't a good way to code.  Your question illustrates the problem; I can't tell what this code does by reading it because I have no idea what -4108 is supposed to mean. 

A better way to write this code would be to replace -4108 with symbol that has meaning to humans but that the compiler will still evaluate as -4108.  As it turns out, Excel has already defined a symbolic constant to represent this value: xlCenter.

So a better way to write that code would be something like:

xlsheet.range("1:1").HorizontalAlignment = Constants.xlCenter

Note that the example above assumes that you have the Excel namespace imported.

I'm not sure how you came up with the definition for xlCenter (-4108), but the help topic for the property hints at its existence.  In the example, they use xlLeft.  With that information, the approach I would take would be to go to the View menu, choose Object Browser, and then type xlLeft in the search combo box.  That would have shown me that xlLeft was a member of Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel.Constants.  Clicking on "Constants" enables me to browse the class and I would have found all of the constants available to me.  Since they are pretty self explanatory, I would have seen xlCenter and understood that was what I needed to use to get the HorizontalAlignment property to align center.

Sincerely,

Geoff Darst

Microsoft VSTO Team

Monday, February 06, 2006 10:17 PM

All replies

• Hi,